There is one key button/switch that appears in nine different areas,
Directory, Groups, Calendar, Manage Pictures, Photo Galleries and within Setup
(User Profiles, Custom Fields, My Organization, Imports).
The button/switch is the Edit On/Off, which appears as the following:
By clicking on this switch you are able to edit the data you are viewing.
Of course this only applies if you are authorized to do editing on the data.
Otherwise, you will not see the switch at all.
While navigating from one area of the system to next, the switch remains
in the position which you switched it to,until you switch it again.
Each time you login, it starts in the off position.